2024-05-14 :

FYUGP Brochure

  || 2024-05-14 :



National Service Scheme(NSS)

St. Michael's College National Service Scheme has two units KL 07/047 A and KL/07/047 B. The total allotted strength of the unit is 200. Dr. Seena Kurian from the Department of Hindi and Dr.Rajesh R from the department of Physical Education are the present Programme Officers of the unit. Mr.Parthik Manoj and Ms. Bhavana Krishna P are functioning as the volunteer secretaries for the year 2023-24. All the activities of the unit are designed and monitored by the advisory committee of the unit, which is chaired by the principal Dr.Sindhu S Nair. The unit has an adopted village, ie. 12th ward of Cherthala South Panchayath, and Sri. Nibu S. Padmam is the ward member of the village.

To achieve the goals, the unit organises various community and campus activities. The major areas of activities are health awareness and camps, organic farming, house construction and renovation, blood and organ donation campaigns, environmental conservation, awareness against drug and alcohol abuse, empowerment of the marginalised and women, tree planting, pond rejuvenation etc. The main target of the community activities are the villagers of the adopted village and campus activities are the students of the college.

Through its meritorious activities, the unit has achieved many recognitions in the past, especially in the last 5 years. In 2015-16 and 2016-17, the unit received the award for the Best NSS unit in the University of Kerala and the Kerala state. In 2016-17 the unit was nominated for the prestigious Indira Gandhi National Service Scheme award. During this period, the unit also received the award for the best Programme officer and best volunteer. Prof. P. Pratheesh was, the best programme officer in the year 2016-17 and he was also nominated to the Indira Gandhi NSS award. In 2017-18, the unit received the award for the best volunteer in the University of Kerala and the State through Mr. Nithin Thomas. In 2018 19, Mr. Arunkumar H. of the unit received the award for the best volunteer in the University. In 2018-19 the unit received the award for the best volunteer in the university, as well as the State, through Ms. Vinduja P.S. Both in 2016-17 and 2018-19 Mr. Nithin Thomas and Ms. Vinduja P.S. were nominated for the Indira Gandhi National Service Scheme award for the best NSS volunteer. Both these volunteers participated in the Republic Day parade in 2017 and 2019 respectively. As a recognition of the achievements, Mr. Nithin Thomas got the chance to participate in the World festival of Youth and Students held at Sochi, Russia in 2017 representing the Nation, State and St. Michael's College. Unit also received NYLP award in 2016-17, Red Ribbon Club award in 2017, Kerala State Biodiversity award, Kerala state award for the best organic farming school and many other for non-governmental organisations during these five years. In 2019-20 the unit received the award for the best unit in University of Kerala and Dr. Teny David & Mr. Divine George Kurian received the award for best Programme officer and Best volunteer respectively from University of Kerala. In 2021-22 the unit received the award for the best unit in University of Kerala and Dr. Seena Kurian best Programme officer , Ms. Anaswara Lal Best volunteer, Mr. Siva S Babu received the Certificate for appreciation from University of Kerala.

Programme Officers

  • Sri. Pratheesh P(2014-19)
  • Sri. Abin Albert(2015-16)
  • Sri. Joseph Libin K.L (2016-17)
  • Dr. Teny David(2017-22)
  • Dr. Seena Kurian(2019- onwards )
  • Dr. Rajesh R(2022 onwards)

The Ceaseless Ascent

The cherished dream of an enlightened society ideally depends on quality education. Driven and inspired by this proven fact, the community of the Diocese of Alleppey made its resolute entry into the field of higher education.

Copyrights © 2023 St.Michaels College. All rights reserved.